511 Harrington Highway | Eden, NC | 336.627-2600

Return to Headlines

RCS Names Principal and Assistant Principal of the Year

November 15, 2016


Ann Mitchell, principal of Reidsville High School (RHS), has been selected as the 2017 Wells-Fargo Principal of the YearAnn Mitchell for Rockingham County Schools (RCS) in a program co-sponsored by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction and Wells-Fargo Bank. Mrs. Mitchell now moves on to compete with other local award recipients from the Piedmont-Triad Region of the State.


Mitchell has served as principal of Reidsville High School since 2015 and has 25 years of experience in education.  During her educational career, she has served as an elementary teacher, curriculum facilitator, assistant principal at Reidsville High and principal at Moss Street Elementary.


Mitchell earned a Bachelor’s Degree in Elementary Education, a Master's Degree in Reading and Secondary Education, and a second Master’s Degree in School Administration all from North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University.  Additionally, Mitchell has earned an Educational Specialist Degree from the University of North Carolina at Greensboro. She is currently pursuing her Doctorate Degree in Educational Leadership and Cultural Foundations from the University of North Carolina at Greensboro.


Regional Principal of the Year award recipients will be selected by February 2017 and the 2017 State Wells Fargo Principal of the Year will be announced in the spring of 2017 at a state event in Raleigh.


Smothers Hunter Smothers, a McMichael High School (DMHS) assistant principal, was chosen as the 2017 RCS Assistant Principal of the Year. Smothers has been an assistant principal at DMHS since 2016 and was assistant principal at Holmes Middle from 2012 - 2016. Smothers has 12 years in education and has also served as a Physical Education Teacher.


Smothers received his Bachelor’s Degree in Sports Medicine and Physical Education from Elon University and a Master’s Degree in Education from Liberty University with an Administration License from Western Carolina University.


Congratulations Mrs. Mitchell and Mr. Smothers, we are proud of you!