511 Harrington Highway | Eden, NC | 336.627-2600

Return to Headlines

RCS 2016-17 Teacher of the Year Celebration


September 21, 2016

On September 20, 2016, Rockingham County Schools (RCS) honored its school-based Teachers of the Year, the RCS Teacher of the Year Runner-Up, and the RCS Teacher of the Year at the RCS Teacher of the Year Celebration.


At the event, each of RCS' twenty-five school-based Teachers of the Year were recognized. Nicky Edwards,    Allied Health/Career & Technical Eucation teacher at Morehead High School, was recognized as the 2016-2017 Rockingham County Schools Teacher of the Year. Reba Johnson, kindergarten teacher at Draper Elementary, was recognized as the RCS Teacher of the Year Runner-Up. Also, in a surprise announcement, Ann Mitchell, principal at Reidsville High was named RCS Principal of the Year.

Rockingham County Schools congratulates these employees as well as the other outstanding school-based Teachers of the Year (listed, below).

Troubleshooting:  Click here to view the video directly on YouTube. 
School-Based Teachers of the Year

Elementary Schools:

Amy Allen - Bethany Elementary

Sonia Prichard - Central Elementary

Teresa Strickland - Dillard Elementary

Jessica James - Douglass Elementary

Reba Johnson - Draper Elementary

Kim Threewitt - Huntsville Elementary

Deborah Williams - Leaksville-Spray Elementary

Judi Walker - Lincoln Elementary

Natalie Jobe - Monroeton Elementary

Megan Pickell - Moss Street Elementary

Leslie Suddreth - New Vision Elementary

Wendy Pruitt - South End Elementary                                       

Denise Sears - Stoneville Elementary

Maria Verdi - Wentworth Elementary

Lauryn Thornton - Williamsburg Elementary


Middle Schools:

Janice Castle - Holmes Middle

Gabriela Anaya-Barrera - Reidsville Middle

Jennifer Rakestraw - Rockingham County Middle

Kelly Terry - Western Rockingham Middle


High Schools:

Lyn Carlisle - McMichael High

Nicky Edwards - Morehead High

Marilyn Faeth - Reidsville High

Erin Hughes - Rockingham County High

Laura Collins - Rockingham Early College High


Alternative School:

Susie Phillips - The SCORE Center


Click here if you would like to download a picture from the Teacher of the Year Celebration.
To download:
- Click on the picture you would like to view 
- In the Right-hand, bottom corner of the photo pop-up is a down pointing arrow (you may need to scroll your screen
  over) click the arrow - you will now need a yahoo account to download the image, it is still FREE! 
- Click your image size (the larger the size the better the quality photo)
- The photo will begin downloading
- Save file