511 Harrington Highway | Eden, NC | 336.627-2600

Return to Headlines

Congratulations RCS' School-Based Teachers of the Year

May 10, 2016

Teachers of the Year for each of Rockingham County’s public schools have been elected by their fellow faculty members.


A Teacher of the Year (TOY) is chosen every year by fellow certified teachers in all 25 Rockingham County schools. They represent the school’s certified teachers and serve as a nominee for the county-wide TOY, who in turn serves as a Rockingham County nominee for North Carolina’s TOY.


The 2016-2017 Teachers of the Year from each school are:


Elementary Schools:

Amy Allen - Bethany Elementary

Sonia Prichard - Central Elementary

Teresa Strickland - Dillard Elementary

Jessica James - Douglass Elementary

Reba Johnson - Draper Elementary

Kim Threewitt - Huntsville Elementary

Deborah Williams - Leaksville-Spray Elementary

Judi Walker - Lincoln Elementary

Natalie Jobe - Monroeton Elementary

Megan Pickell - Moss Street Elementary

Leslie Suddreth - New Vision Elementary

Wendy Pruitt - South End Elementary                                       

Denise Sears - Stoneville Elementary

Maria Verdi - Wentworth Elementary

Lauryn Thornton - Williamsburg Elementary


Middle Schools:

Janice Castle - Holmes Middle

Gabriela Anaya-Barrera - Reidsville Middle

Jennifer Rakestraw - Rockingham County Middle

Kelly Terry - Western Rockingham Middle


High Schools:

Lyn Carlisle - McMichael High

Nicky Edwards - Morehead High

Marilyn Faeth - Reidsville High

Erin Hughes - Rockingham County High

Laura Collins - Rockingham Early College High


Alternative School:

Susie Phillips - The SCORE Center


Teachers of the Year are selected by their peers for the quality of their teaching, professional development, teaching philosophy and methods, community involvement, and contributions to education. A Central Office administrator committee will select finalists from the 25 School-Based Teachers of the Year, one of whom will be chosen as the Rockingham County Schools’ TOY and will serve as a nominee for North Carolina Teacher of the Year.

Congratulations to our 2016-17 school-based teachers of the year!