2020 Sardis Church Road | Madison, NC | 336.427.3266

Print This Page

Common Core State Standards

Common Core Common Core State Standards (CCSS) are a set of shared, Kindergarten through 12th grade national standards in English Language Arts and Mathematics.  The Common Core standards will allow teachers to develop students’ understanding of the content on a deeper level by focusing on the most vital concepts.  The Common Core standards also provide a more logical progression of skills that spiral and build in complexity from one grade level to the next.  

North Carolina Essential Standards 

NC Essential Standards North Carolina Essential Standards are the content area standards developed specific to North Carolina.  While Common Core State Standards include only English Language Arts and Mathematics, North Carolina has created Essential Standards for all other subject areas.  The Essential Standards are aligned with Common Core Literacy Standards and professional development is being provided for teachers in integrating these literacy skills across all content areas including: 

  • Science
  • Social Studies
  • World Languages
  • Arts Education
  • Healthful Living
  • Guidance
  • Instructional and Technology Skills
  • Occupational Course of Study
  • English Language Development
  • Career and Technical Education 
For additional information regarding the Common Core and Essential Standards please review the following links:
If you have questions regarding Common Core and Essential Standard Information please contact the following:
  • Your child's teacher
  • Your child's school:  Mrs. Mary Kirkpatrick, Instructional Coach and/or Mr. Russell Vernon, Principal.