511 Harrington Highway | Eden, NC | 336.627-2600

Print This Page
2014-15 Points of Pride  
  • RCS Boasts 975 21st Century Classrooms
  • All RCS' full-time, certified staff are provided laptops
  • All RCS high schools students, grades 9-12, are provided a Google Chromebook (laptop) for home and school use (over 4,000)!
  • Held the 2014 RCS Educator’s Conference with 100+ sessions for employees.
  • Rockingham County Schools is one of only seven school districts in the state to receive an “A” from NC Transparency (nctransparency.com)! NC Transparency was created by the John Locke Foundation in an effort to encourage transparency among North Carolina’s governmental entities.
  • Karen Hyler, RCS Public Information Officer, was named to the National School Public Relations Association (NSPRA) Top 35 Under 35 Class of Public Relations professionals for 2014.
  • Rockingham Early College High School (RECHS) had a 95% four-year cohort graduation rate in 2014-15.
  • Stephanie Austin, RCS lead school psychologist and crisis coordinator, received the North Carolina School Psychology Association (NCSPA) 2014 Practitioner of the Year Award.
  • Stephanie Austin, RCS lead school psychologist/crisis coordinator, was selected as the recipient of the first annual PBIS Leadership Award for her outstanding efforts to support Positive Behavior Intervention and Support in North Carolina.
  • The School Counseling Program at Dillard Elementary for being recognized nationally by the American School Counselor Association (ASCA). Dillard has been named an ASCA Model Program.
  • Positive Behavior Intervention Systems Program Awards - Green Ribbon Schools: Moss Street Elementary, Reidsville High, Bethany Elementary and Rockingham Early College High School; Model Ribbon Schools - Reidsville Middle and Williamsburg Elementary; Exemplar Banner Status: Central Elementary, Draper Elementary, Huntsville Elementary, Dillard Elementary, Lincoln Elementary, Monroeton Elementary, South End Elementary, The SCORE Center and Western Rockingham Middle School.
  • Dr. Rodney Shotwell was named the 2015 A. Craig Phillips North Carolina Superintendent of the Year! 
  • Justin Holt of Western Rockingham County Middle, Cason Pyrtle of Rockingham County Middle, Emily Owens and Nathan Tolodziecki of Rockingham County High School, and Garrett Wilson of McMichael High School were selected to participate in the NC Music Educators Association (NCMEA) Honors Choirs.
  • Cory Lockhart, Garrett Wilson and Mattie Wingfield from McMichael High were selected out of over 1,500 students who auditioned from 13 southern states and Puerto Rico, by audition, to perform at the American Choral Director’s Association (ACDA) Southern Division Conference.
  • Rockingham Early College High was awarded the 2015 North Carolina Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development (NCASCD) Lighthouse School Award for innovation, leadership, and excellence in student achievement. They were 1 of 5 schools in NC.
  • Cory Lockhart, a junior at McMichael High, was selected for the 2015 High School Honors Performance Series at Carnegie Hall, presented by WorldStrides.  Participation in one of the three Honors Ensembles is limited to the highest rated high school performers from across North America and select schools internationally.
  • The RCS Finance Department received a Certificate of Excellence in Financial Reporting Award by the Government Finance Officers Association and the Association of School Business Officials International.
  • Vickie Slaydon, music teacher at Bethany Elementary, is one of eight nationwide 2015 recipients of the 9/11 Tribute Center’s annual Teacher Award. This award is given in recognition of teachers who have made an outstanding effort to discuss the events of September 11th with their students and to create projects that helped students understand their relationship to these events.
  • Morehead High Wrestling Team - NCHSAA 3A State Dual Team Runner-Up.
  • Morehead High Wrestling Team - NCHSAA 3A State Individual Team Champions.
  • Reidsville High 11th grade student and Hotbotz 2640 Robotics Team President Sarah Roland has been named a FIRST Dean’s List Finalist, a prestigious award given to FIRST Robotics competitors.
  • Laura Shumate - Rockingham Early College High School, Hannah Thompson - Morehead High School and Jenna Harmon - Rockingham County High School, have been honored for their exemplary volunteer service with a Certificate of Excellence from The Prudential Spirit of Community Awards, a national program that honors youth volunteers nationwide for outstanding volunteer service.
  • Coach Woody Wall, Rockingham County High women's basketball coach, was named one of eight "coaches who make a difference" by virtue of their exemplary sportsmanshipby the North Carolina High School Athletic Association.
  • Elliot Graves, 11th grade student at Rockingham Early College High (represents Reidsville High in athletics), won the NCHSAA 2-A State Championship for Indoor Track in 55 Meter Hurdles and the 300 Meter Dash (this was also a new State record).
  • 87.5% of Rockingham County Schools met or exceeded growth (this measures the amount of growth a group of students make at a school for the academic school year according to the NC Growth Model)
  • The class of 2015 earned over $16.3 million in scholarship offerings.
  • RCS' drop-out rate is 3.8% the lowest in RCS history.
  • RCS Teacher Turnover rate is 10.56%, 4.28 percentage points lower than NC’s turnover rate of 14.84%.